 |
|
11-25-2006, 04:41 PM
|
#1
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
|
iProber?
We just had a client sign up ( http://lzew.l5b.net) and install some software called iProber. I know it displays a bunch of information about the server, but am I at risk? I'm not entirely sure if it's common for this to happen or if it's sort of a signal that someone's going to try to exploit the server.
(We just hit 50 accounts though! Yay! Less than 24hrs!)
__________________
5C0 Networks - 250MB Space - 10GB Bandwidth - Ad Supported
|
|
11-25-2006, 04:48 PM
|
#2
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
|
Warning: If you come across a user with this script installed, REMOVE IT IMMEDIATELY. It allows them to mass e-mail, and it checks the binary executables on all programs. Or something like that. Better to remove it.
__________________
5C0 Networks - 250MB Space - 10GB Bandwidth - Ad Supported
|
|
11-25-2006, 06:22 PM
|
#3
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 201
|
if php can send mail then you are going to end up in a big mess with your datacenter
|
|
11-26-2006, 02:44 AM
|
#4
|
|
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 49
|
Yes that thing had been a bitch for me... If you see it remove it asap!
|
|
11-26-2006, 11:35 AM
|
#5
|
|
Community Liaison
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 551
|
What is it exactly? Is it a shell script, or is it a mail bomber?
__________________
L4RGE.com Free NO ADS Hosting With Fully Featured cPanel, PHP, MySQL, and More!
TomorrowHosting.com One cent hosting, with great affiliate program for free hosting users.
|
|
11-26-2006, 03:56 PM
|
#6
|
|
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 49
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by ZendURL
What is it exactly? Is it a shell script, or is it a mail bomber?
|
It is a php script generally called "iprober.php".
|
|
11-26-2006, 05:05 PM
|
#7
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: in the closet
Posts: 101
|
Here's an example of the script in action. Well, I think that's what you're referring to. The script is Chinese, so here's the Babelfish translation for those curious.
As far as I could tell, it seems to be just a server information script, though a very detailed one. I don't what you mean about it allowing someone to send mass emails, though. Maybe I'm not looking closely enough, but I can't see anything of the sort. Still, there doesn't seem to be a good reason for somebody to have such a scipt in their hosting account. Better safe than sorry, anyway, so you might as well take everyone else's advice and remove it. =^^=
|
|
11-26-2006, 06:06 PM
|
#8
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 142
|
removing the script is not the way to go about it, you should try to harden your system so this stuff can't succeed.
This script isn't a shell, it's just a server information script.
If this script works:
- you don't have php open_basedir protection on, or safe_mode i think, or permissions are screwed up.
because it is digging into /proc/ to get that information most of the time.
- and you don't have function popen(); and mail(); disabled because its running some commands with that
disable popen, mail, and enable open_basedir if this script bothers you.
you should check to make sure no one can get above their root folder though, since they can get into /proc/ that may be bad... that's my greatest concern.
|
|
11-26-2006, 08:22 PM
|
#9
|
|
Community Liaison
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 551
|
If you have open_basedir disabled somebody could hack your site in a minute. When creating a free host that is the first thing you should do.
__________________
L4RGE.com Free NO ADS Hosting With Fully Featured cPanel, PHP, MySQL, and More!
TomorrowHosting.com One cent hosting, with great affiliate program for free hosting users.
|
|
11-26-2006, 09:53 PM
|
#10
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
|
Thanks for all the advice. I'll be double checking all the settings!
Also, funny thing happened. I saw somebody with five scripts similar to this today. Could there honestly be a purpose for this?
__________________
5C0 Networks - 250MB Space - 10GB Bandwidth - Ad Supported
Last edited by LuckyBambu : 11-26-2006 at 09:56 PM.
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|